• Main page

Junior Boks change two for SFs

2WP Rugby reported that Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron has made two changes to his match-23 for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship semifinal against defending champions England in Calvisano on Monday evening.

DHL Western Province flank Rikus Bothma takes over the No.6 jersey from his provincial teammate Jacques Vermeulen, while Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings) replaces Grant Hermanus (DHL WP) on the bench.

The rest of the match squad that did duty against Australia in Calvisano last Wednesday – a game the Junior Springboks won 46-13 – has been kept unchanged, with a total of seven Province junior starts named in the 23-man group.

Theron said the changes were all part of the team’s rotational policy. “We know this tournament is a marathon and not a sprinting race and we therefore have to be sensible with our player management process.

“All the players are fit and in good shape and now they must go out and do the business,” said Theron.

“We are not looking at England’s previous result (they lost to France in their final pool match). They are in the semifinals and will be looking to play in a third successive final. We know they will be highly motivated and will definitely have a good plan against us.”

Theron and his conditioning staff have managed the activities of the Junior Bok squad very carefully during the past few days in an effort to keep them fresh.

“Although we have seen some rain here the past few days, the weather is still hot and humid and we therefore tried to give the players as must rest as possible.

“They are refreshed again and I am very pleased with their attitude and readiness. Earlier today (Sunday) we took them for an outing to Maranello, which they thoroughly enjoyed, and will finish off our preparations with the captains run in the early evening,” added to Theron.

The match starts at 20h30 and will be televised live on SuperSport in South Africa. New Zealand and France clash in the other semifinal at 18h30 at the same venue.

The Junior Springbok team to face Australia Under-20 in Calvisano is as follows:

  1. Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
    14. Khanyo Ngcukana (DHL Western Province)
    13. EW Viljoen (DHL Western Province)
    12. Daniel du Plessis (DHL Western Province)
    11. Leolin Zas (DHL Western Province)
    10. Brendon Thomson (DHL Western Province)
    9. Ivan van Zyl (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
    8. Hanro Liebenberg (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
    7. Jean-Luc du Plessis (Cell C Sharks)
    6. Rikus Bothma (DHL Western Province)
    5. RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
    4. Jason Jenkins (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
    3. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
    2. Joseph Dweba (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
    1. Ox Nche (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

16. Jan van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
17. Mzamo Majola (Cell C Sharks)
18. Frans van Wyk (DHL Western Province)
19. Hyron Andrews (Cell C Sharks)
20. Dan du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
21. Marco Jansen van Vuren (Xerox Golden Lions)
22. Tinus de Beer (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
23. Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)


author: Zone Fitness