• Main page

Springbok News: Was Ritchie’s Winning Try Illegal?

Richie-McCaw-try-ABs-v-Boks-630(SuperSport) Much has been made of All Black captain Ritchie McCaw’s match-winning try against the Springboks in their Castle Lager Rugby Championship match on Saturday, but the real question was whether or not it was a legal move?

McCaw scored in the 74th minute to give the All Blacks a lead they didn’t let go of, by flummoxing the Springbok defence at the lineout on the Bok line and scoring almost untouched.

But replays of the try show that it should have been referred and possibly even disallowed as McCaw was offside on two counts.

Not the commentators, not the assistant referees nor referee Jerome Garces picked it up live and never referred it to the television match official with the try eventually leading to New Zealand’s win in the epic game.

Watch the try again though and keep in mind what the laws say, and it becomes clear that it should never have been given and referee Garces made a mistake.

Watch on

author: Zone Fitness